Wed. Aug 4th, 2021

In a landmark victory, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) candidate Nomula Bhagath won the Nagarjunasagar byelections against his nearest rival and senior Congress leader K Jana Reddy with a thumping majority.

The TRS won the election with a margin of 18,449 votes. 37 year old Bhagath secured 87,254 votes while 74 year old Jana Reddy got 68,805 votes. BJP candidate Dr P Ravi Kumar Naik lost his deposit.

The TRS nominee maintained his lead in all the 25 rounds, barring one round in which he trailed by a slender margin during the counting which commenced early Sunday morning. The bypoll was necessitated following the death of sitting TRS MLA Nomula Narsimhaiah in December last year. While the TRS fielded Mr. Bhagat as its nominee, veteran leader K. Jana Reddy represented the Congress and P. Ravi Kumar was the BJP’s candidate in the election.

Though it was expected that the BJP would put up a reasonable performance, its nominee forfeited the security deposit at the end of the day as the contest turned out to be between the TRS and the Congress as the counting progressed.

Speaking to the media after his win, Bhagath said he would work hard to fulfil his father’s dream of developing the Assembly constituency. He thanked the TRS leaders and workers who worked for his victory and assured that he would live up to the confidence shown by the people of the constituency. The newly-elected MLA asserted he will strive to complete all the development works taken up in his constituency by the next elections. Meanwhile, the TRS cadre broke into celebrations in Nalgonda and in Telangana Bhavan, the party headquarters in Hyderabad.

Digital Marketing Online Training in India