Sun. Jun 20th, 2021

Major Setback to TDP in Telangana State

In a major setback to the Telugu Desam Party in Telangana, 4 of its MLAs and an MLC have decided to cross over to the Telangana Rashtra Samiti on Thursday morning.

Former Minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav (Sanatnagar), Teegala Krishna Reddy (Maheswaram), Prakash Goud (Rajendranagar) and Ch.Dharma Reddy (Parkal) and MLC Gangadhar Goud met Chief Minister K.Chandrasekhar Rao at the camp office.

Emerging from the meeting, they said they decided to quit the TDP and join the TRS only to help achieve the goal of ‘Bangaru Telangana’ (golden State). Ending weeks of suspense, the TDP legislators visit to Camp office was dramatic. Media was alerted minutes before the meeting and asked to rush to the Camp office.

The four legislators and the MLC, sources said would be joining the TRS officially in a week at a public meeting to be organised by the TRS. Though they intended to announce their joining the TRS, the formal announcement was kept pending. It was indicated that some more TDP legislators from Telangana could join the TRS shortly.

major set back for tdp in telanganaIn the house of 119 in Telangana Assembly, TDP had won 15 seats and with the latest development, its number would dwindle to 11. In the last few weeks, a number of Congress, TDP and the YSR Congress party MLAs have switched their loyalties forcing their legislature parties to file disqualification petitions with the Speaker.

Mr. Krishna Reddy regretted that 33 years of his work with the TDP was not considered by the party chief. “We are sons of Telangana and we feel it is time we quit the TDP and join hands with a leader who is sincere about giving the new State an identity of its own, apart from safeguarding the self-respect of the people of Telangana. We will strive to take Hyderabad into the big league as internationally-known city.

Digital Marketing Online Training in India