Sun. Jun 20th, 2021

Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, Egypt and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) severed ties with Qatar on Monday after
accusing the nation of supporting ‘terrorism’ and Islamic groups.

The move comes amid a deepening rift between the Gulf Arab nations, reported the Associated Press. The dispute between Qatar and its neighbouring countries began after the former alleged in May that hackers took over its state-run news agency and published fake comments from its ruling Emir regarding Iran and Israel.

The other four countries had, at the time, responded by blocking all Qatari-based media, including Al-Jazeera.

The four countries announced that they would withdraw their respective diplomatic missions from Qatar, which
recently won the bid to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup, within the next few days. The nations have also cut off all air and sea movement to the peninsular country.

Meanwhile, in light of these events, Abu Dhabi’s state-owned airline firm Etihad Airways has announced suspension of its flights to and fro Doha from Tuesday morning, until further notice. The last flight from the country to Doha will depart at 2.45 am (local time) on Tuesday

Digital Marketing Online Training in India